The 2018 Art Shanty Projects

DO NOT MISS THE ART SHANTY PROJECTS!  It’s a fabulous winter event focusing on art, creativity and community.

You’re invited to the frozen ice of Lake Harriet/Bde Unma for four weekends of shanties and performances! Enter the stomach of the lonely whale, play on-ice bingo, contort your snowsuit-covered self in a lake-themed Twister, watch a zoetrope in action, experience what’s probably the first ever human-sized hamster wheel on the ice, relive the Tonya and Nancy drama, and so so much more!

**Now with notary public capabilities in the Notary Shanty!**

Saturday, January 20 + Sunday, January 21, 10am-4pm
Saturday, January 27 + Sunday, January 28, 10am-4pm (Youth and Family Weekend)
Saturday, February 3 + Sunday, February 4, 10am-4pm (All Access Weekend)
Saturday, February 10 + Sunday, February 11, 10am-4pm

Easy access out onto the ice is near the Lake Harriet Bandshell–walk out onto the ice, and then walk about another 1,000 out. Parking is limited so please consider taking the bus (opening weekend is sponsored by Metro Transit–check out our website for printable free bus rides), biking, carpooling, ridesharing, sledding, sleighing, dogsledding, skiing, snowshoeing, magic carpet flying, levitating, or otherwise.

Related Posts

Free screening: The Princess Bride

A classic movie outdoor under the stars! Tuesday, August 28, 2018 8pm Father Hennepin Bluff Park Minneapolis

The Art Car & Art Bike Parade

Watch a wonderful parade of interesting decorated cars & bikes around Lake Harriet. Saturday, July 21, 2018 6pm Lake Harriet near the rose garden Minneapolis

Third Thursday: Egypt’s Sunken Cities

Celebrate Mia’s new special exhibition “Egypt’s Sunken Cities” with an evening of exploration and discovery through literature and art. Enjoy live music and learn more about Egyptian gods, myths, and more. Be among the first to experience this one of a kind special exhibition. Thursday, November 15, 2018 6-9pm Minneapolis Institute of Art Free; refreshments […]